peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

long silence, then something different… May 30, 2011

Filed under: Baby,Sewing — Katherine @ 7:49 pm

Well, it’s been a while. I couldn’t quite believe it when I saw that the last time I posted was the 19th March. Forgive me.

Lots has happened in that time. I went back to work. It wasn’t as bad as I feared. We had the hottest April since the beginning of time (or something), a royal wedding – you heard about that, I’m sure, a new baby in the family and one amongst my friends, two pregnancies announced, two new teeth and a word (for Phoebe, not me) and a whole lot of sewing (for me!).

Many of the things I make are born out of me being an utter cheapskate. I see something I like, get a major case of the wants, then, nine times out of ten, decide that I can probably make it myself for cheaper. This was definitely the case with my latest project.

Mini-stack!

We thought about using cloth nappies with Phoebe before she was born, but my pregnant lady research was rubbish, and only turned up commercially made, boring and pretty expensive choices. So the idea was put into hibernation. Until a few weeks ago when, having a conversation with some friends who use cloth, one simply said, ‘you’re quite crafty, why don’t you make your own?’. And so an obsession was born.

These are a few of my favourites:

DDU side snapping

Happy Snap - smallest

Butterfly

Oriental Bum

Since then I have turned most of my old clothes pile and a chunk of my stash into a nappy of some description. I have been experimenting with ideas and looks and I’ve been planning.

I’ve got a few more plans up my sleeve. Hopefully it won’t be too long this time before I can share them with you.

 

9 Responses to “long silence, then something different…”

  1. Heather Says:

    I showed E&D your nappies on flickr and they were super impressed.
    What’s Phoebe’s word? was it “sewing” or “xbox”?

    • Katherine Says:

      He he, it was ‘duck’. Or, more accurately, ‘dck’. Apparently she doesn’t think ducks deserves vowels.

  2. Little Hands Dreams Says:

    Oh, Hello. Love these. Have been looking for these kind of “buttons” for ages. Love also the fabrics you use. Thank you for sharing! Would you do a tutorial on how to make these?
    Thank you
    Emma

    • Katherine Says:

      Hello! Sorry for the vast wait for a reply. I’ve been on my jollies.

      For a tutorial I’ll just direct you to this amazing website: http://diaperdivas.proboards.com/index.cgi

      This is where I’ve been hanging about the last couple of months and it is a veritable goldmine of nappy-related info, patterns, tutorials and all sorts.

      The snaps are by a company called KAM. I got mine on ebay from a Chinese seller – they came with pliers to set them and the snaps are available in an amazing range of colours. Quite cheap, too, especially if you get a lot at a time.

      Hope this helps 🙂

  3. Casey Says:

    those diapers look great!

  4. Tat Says:

    Your creations are stunning, especially the blue one with the butterflies! You could make a business out of it.

  5. Ana Says:

    I have Baby Stash in cloth nappies and have been toying with the idea of making my own – mostly because I don’t like the way some of mine (or rather, his) don’t have enough of a dry layer against the skin. I have some ideas of how I want to do them, so I’ll be interested to see what you come up with.

  6. Elinor Quinn Says:

    yesyesyes, still love them!

    funnily enough one of Rosie’s first words was “duck” as well. She didn’t really take to baby signing but “duck” was adopted with glee (alongside “chocolate” funnily enough) and verbalising the crazy hand movements soon followed.

  7. I just keep looking at your creations. What can I say. They are soooo cute. Love the “diaper covers” I’m going to have to try my skills out on them.


Leave a Reply

