peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

the yarn fairy… February 1, 2011

Filed under: Knitting — Katherine @ 5:45 pm

Legwarmies modelled

Shortly before Christmas, a little package landed on our doorstep. Well, more realistically (but much less poetically) shortly before Christmas a little package was unceremoniously rammed through our letterbox by the postman (who has broken said letterbox three times already and who I suspect may have underlying anger issues). Destruction of our front door aside, I opened the package to find two lovely little balls of Baby Cashmerino (phwoar) in deep pink and apple green (you may have noticed that I’m a bit obsessed with pink and green together for baby girl things). They were a present for me and the little one from the lovely Heather, and came along with a card which suggested they become a pair of Legwarmies.

I carry Beebs a lot in her Manduca, and her little legs poke out and get ever so cold, so legwarmers were a fab idea, and one I set about on at once!

Mmm, soft...

They’re lovely and soft, and have been a big hit around the baby group circuit! And they keep her little protuding limbs so lovely and toasty that I have immediately set about on her next pair, in self-striping and black sock yarn. Colourific!

Legwarmies II

Thank you, yarn fairy. We loved our present ❤

 

6 Responses to “the yarn fairy…”

  1. Heather Says:

    I loved sending it to you 🙂 Being a yarn fairy is awesomecakes. (being referred to as Auntie Heather tops that though!)

    • Katherine Says:

      He he. Well I feel bad that she has only one uncle (who she has seen three times in her life) and no aunties at all, so I am giving her a whole load of aunts and uncles who aren’t really her aunts or uncles 🙂

      • Erica Says:

        Just the TITLE of this post caught my eye – “The Yarn Fairy.” What a delicious idea. I can’t imagine a fairy I’d rather see, in fact, not even the Chocolate Brownie Fairy. Thanks for the smile. And I love those colorful stripes!!!

  2. Claire Says:

    Ooh what a lovely present and the legwarmies look gorgeous! I love stripes on babies.

  3. Janice Perkin Says:

    so love the leg warmers and the picture of your Phoebe on her blanket – glad you and her are well – our Phoebe is now 10 months and we have her 2 days a week now mummy is back at work – we love it!!!!!!!!

  4. […] occasion also saw the return of the yarn fairy, only this time she sent ribbon. Lovely, spotty grosgrain ribbon in three delicious coordinating […]


Leave a Reply

