peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

new beginnings… December 14, 2010

Filed under: Crochet — Katherine @ 5:33 pm

Squares

So, the world’s most blanketed baby grows ever more blanketed.

Not a little baby sized blanket this time, though. Oh no. She has lots of lovely little blankets. This is going to be a big blanket. A big blanket just for her.

I’ve been flirting with the idea of making a Babette for a long time, but after spending approximately 56 years making Baby Granny Blanket, I needed to get some instant gratification type projects done. Now I’m rested, I’m revived, and I’m ready to go. Bring it on, Babette.

Palette

I’m using my go-to yarn for baby projects, Jarol Heritage DK. It’s cheap, soft, machine washable, and at 55% wool, it’s nice and cosy to boot. Best of all, a lot of the colours were in my stash already. Perfect.

Babette Begins

Beginnings are always very exciting, don’t you think?

 

7 Responses to “new beginnings…”

  1. Janice Perkin Says:

    it looks really great – hope your Phoebe enjoys her first Christmas – our phoebe likes the tree and she loves the feel of tinsel!

  2. Rach Says:

    ooh loving forward to seeing it grow x

  3. Lucy@Attic24 Says:

    Fabulous to see the beginnings of your babette, I’ve also been toying with the idea of doing one for an age!
    Also I have a sizeable stash of the heritage yarn that i’ve never used, I feel inspired to go dig it out.
    lovely to visit with you, I so know what you mean about the first six months of a first baby, it’s awesome. By baby number three it’s just as awesome I can tell you, only you feel slightly better prepared for it.
    Happy New Year!!
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • Katherine Says:

      Definitely dig out the Heritage, I love it! It perfectly bridges the gap between nice, expensive yarns and cheap acrylics. The colours are ok, there are some lovely ones, but others are just a bit off (the orange is a touch too neon, the yellow not quite neon enough!).

      Babette is moving more quickly than I thought, too. Would recommend both πŸ˜€

  4. Mary Says:

    I enjoyed reading your blog and wanted to share with you my babette project. I loved working on it and was thrilled with my finished blanket! http://everydaydelight09.blogspot.com/2009/06/fruit-punch.html. I don’t have very much time to crochet, knit etc. since becoming engaged on Christmas Eve to a wonderful man. I am seventy-one years young and have been single for many years following raising my children as a single mom. Your baby is adorable! Best Wishes, especially with yhe Babette.

    • Katherine Says:

      Your Babette is fabulous! Mine is growing rather slowly, but it is growing, and I’m excited about seeing it as a whole. It’s more of a slow burning kind of project, and many more immediate projects seem to be sneaking in and delaying my progress, but it will get there, I’m sure.

      And congratulations on your engagement! πŸ˜€

  5. Casey Says:

    lovely colors! I’m making the babette right now too πŸ™‚ So much fun!


Leave a Reply

