peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

the craft has got his hat on… September 6, 2010

Filed under: Baby,Knitting,Project Projects! — Katherine @ 5:31 pm

Stripes!Crafting with a baby around takes a little getting used to. Gone are the days of hours devoted to yarn or fabric or words. Crafting with a baby is quick and dirty. You get your kicks where you can.

Earflaps

A stripe here, an earflap there. A two hour project stretches to fill four days. But I’m getting there!

An unprecedented decision on Phoebe’s part to actually try sleeping at bedtime has got me off to a flying start, and last night I wove in the final end on her very first hat. Unfortunately, poor gauge-measuring on my part means it’ll probably fit her for all of about ten seconds, but just for now I think she’s looking very dapper indeed!

Hat-tastic!

Pattern is the Children’s Earflap Hat by SweetP Knits, knit in the round. 4.5mm needles, remnant of Rowan Pure Wool from Baby Granny Blanket.

Project Projects reaches 10!

 

9 Responses to “the craft has got his hat on…”

  1. Heather Says:

    It’s such a super duper awesome hat, lovely lovely. She looks ace in it, albeit a little surprised!
    xxxxx

    • Katherine Says:

      He he! She’s a July baby, she’s never worn a hat before!

      The first time I put it on, she cried. Woops. The second time she was ok, but I think it’ll take a third or maybe even fourth before she’s entirely convinced!

      I do also think she’s still getting used to my paparazzi-style intrusions.

  2. Janice Perkin Says:

    she is so cute and so is the hat – you will have to save it for the next one!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Katherine Says:

      Thanks 🙂

      I may actually keep it in my arsenal for baby presents, and make another bigger one for actual use. Someone’s bound to have a winter girl baby at some point!

  3. Rach Says:

    i love love love this, shes so blooming cute and now she has a blooming cute hat to match, off to go and investigate that pattern yay!

    • Katherine Says:

      It’s a great pattern! SO much scope for personalising it, and if you are not sleep-deprived to such a fashion that simple measuring outfoxes you, I think it’d be a really good fit :p

      I may try a fair isle one next!

  4. Rach Says:

    fabulous, i need to make 6mth old ones wish me luck lol

  5. Claire Says:

    What a gorgeous hat! Almost as gorgeous as the baby 😀

  6. niki Says:

    oh my heck! what a super duper cutie pie!


Leave a Reply

