peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

completion… July 9, 2010

Filed under: Baby,Project Projects! — Katherine @ 10:25 pm

But only just…

I finished the blanket in the very early stages of labour. Some 44 hours later (!) on 1st July, baby Phoebe was born by emergency c-section. She weighed 5lb 12oz and immediately set about wooing midwives with her eyelashes. Apparently they’re pretty long.

We’re home. We’re fine. But we may be absent from blogland for a little bit while we get to grips with this whole parenting business.

And by me, I obviously mean me. Phoebe’s already excellent at being a baby.

 

8 Responses to “completion…”

  1. louise Says:

    Hello,

    I don’t know you, I just clicked through to here from another blog, but I’d like to say congratulations! The first thing I noticed when I saw the photo was the length of her eyelashes, they are very long and she looks beautiful! Phoebe is a lovely name!

    I think it was lovely that you finished the blanket in the early stages of labour – that will make a great story to tell Phoebe in years to come, and I’m sure will be a treasured memory.

    So congratulations and best wishes!

    Louise

  2. Resmi Says:

    Congratulations!!! Wishing both mother and baby a good time 🙂

    Love,
    Resmi

  3. Edith Says:

    Hi Katherine!
    Congratulations for you and your husband. A beautiful babygirl! I wish you all the luck in the world. And especially lots of time to enjoy! I hope your husband will spoil you, because you deserve it after 9 months and a hell of a job at the finish.
    Being a mum is the most special experience you can not explain to someone, until that very moment!
    Your focus is now on your new family. Bless you all.
    And when you’re up to it: I’m looking forward to your inspiring posts.

    Kind greetings from the Netherlands, Edith

  4. Maya Says:

    Congratulations!
    I love your blog and your crocheting! I’m sure your little one will love being surrounded by your wonderful handmades ; ) and she does have gorgeous lashes!

  5. pymette Says:

    congratulations, what a darling! leanna x

  6. Ana Says:

    Congratulations! and foof for the long labour! Such gorgeous eyelashes, the midwives are right to be wooed!

  7. faye Says:

    What a lovely post! Congratulations to you and your family. Love love the sunburst blanket, want to make one myself!

  8. Melissa Says:

    What a sweetie!!! so….cute!

    Oh yeah on the 44 hours. welcome to the LLS club (Long-Labor-Sisterhood). 30 hours for my first. 30 long….excruciating…hours. and then i saw him the first time, and he cried for the first time, and i was in love. I’ve always said labor is the main ingrediant in a “mothers-love” .

    Congrats!


Leave a Reply

