peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

decisions… June 26, 2010

Filed under: Crochet,Project Projects! — Katherine @ 8:29 am

63 completed sunburst squares. 6 piles of carefully organised colourways. 5 days til baby p&p is due. It’s becoming a race against time.

Since these pictures were taken, I have begun sewing them up. This is my first time sewing granny squares. I used the join-as-you-go method with Baby Granny Blanket, but Sunburst doesn’t have the granny holes, so that was never going to look right. I’ve crocheted squares together before, too, but I don’t like the ridges along the back, particularly with smaller squares. So I did some googling and decided to go with a mattress stitch. I’m liking it, so far. It’s flat, and feels pretty secure. And I’m even quite enjoying the process of stitching.

There they are – all my squares, in their final layout. I took some time with this, making sure the pinks and deep purples were pretty evenly distributed, and that no two adjacent squares had the same colour in the same place. I also made sure, as I was hooking them up, that no two squares were identical. This is the most controlled of anything I’ve made. Maybe this is my version of nesting? Cause I know my house is not looking any amount of cleaner!

See? All my little piles, laid out in order, labelled by row, ready to be sewn up. I even tied them together so there was no possibility of them getting all messed up.

As of this morning, rows 1-5 are sewn up. 6 is by my side, about to be added, and 7, 8 and 9 are sitting on top of my yarn chest, waiting patiently. What do you reckon will come first? Completion or baby?

 

4 Responses to “decisions…”

  1. Heather Says:

    I think completion will come first, because she isn’t allowed to be born until I’m home from my holiday.
    The blanket is going to look gorgeous, I love it xxx

  2. JacquiMcR Says:

    Sew like mad and it will be finished before the little one arrives. Best wishes – jacqui x

  3. Maya Says:

    wow! These make me want to crochet, beautiful!

  4. […] שמקושרות פה משמאל לטקסט. דוגמא קלאסית ונקייה, שמופיעה במלא מלא מלא בלוגים של סריגה לאחרונה. למרות שלרובכם שלל […]


Leave a Reply

