peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

on being productive… May 28, 2010

Filed under: Crochet,Project Projects! — Katherine @ 11:29 am

So, Project Projects is up to seven!

Apparently me and maternity leave make excellent bedfellows. I’m sure my bliss will soon be shattered by the piercing cries of a newborn, but until then, my craft has got his hat on and he is totally coming out to play.

This is the little cotton carseat blanket I made for the little one. She is extremely blanketed already, but being due in summer, I thought she could probably do with a light, cool blanket to put her on until I rock out the Rowan in the autumn. I think this will do the trick.

This yarn is so lovely. It’s more Rico – Cotton Blend, which is a really nice cotton/acrylic with contrasty shiny threads running through (somewhere between soft cotton and mercerised). I picked the colours to be a little bit girly, but not insipid, and I think they totally work. If Rico know one thing about yarn, it’s colour.

I winged the pattern – just simple, chunky stripes, and finished the edges off with a little splash of that green.

Carseat – check. Carseat blanket – check. Now all I need is a baby.

 

5 Responses to “on being productive…”

  1. Laura Says:

    I love this blanket! It’s beautiful. I’m nearly finished my first ever crochet project – a blanket for my daughter, but as it was really only a “practise” to aid in my learning to crochet I only used acrylic. What yarn would you recommend me use for a newborn baby? Obviously I want it to be soft to touch but also practical (ie easy to wash). Thanks in advance for your help.

    Well done again on your blanket, it really is lovely.

    xxx

    • Katherine Says:

      Thank you 🙂

      I really like cotton/acrylic blends for baby things. The cotton makes them super-soft and breathable, while the acrylic content keeps them hardwearing and means they wash really well. There are some acrylics that are better than others, though – the Rico Baby DK I’m using for my other blanket is 100% synthetic, but it’s so soft! I always like to visit the yarn shop in person and have a squish – any excuse, eh? 😉

      Can’t wait to see your finished blanket!

  2. Laura Says:

    Thank you very much! I’ll see if I can have a look at that then.

    Have a lovely weekend.

    xxx

  3. Heather Says:

    ooh, Heather likey 🙂
    Did the hook size matter in the end? x

    • Katherine Says:

      Nope, not a sausage! I used the new 4mm one and if there is a difference, I can’t tell!

      Hooray 😀


Leave a Reply

