peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

generations… May 25, 2010

Filed under: Crochet,Knitting,Project Projects! — Katherine @ 9:18 am

So, all of a sudden it seems that baby girl is due in five weeks. Of course, this realisation has hit me like a ton of bricks (or a teeny foot in the ribcage in the middle of the night?). Obviously I already realised I was having a baby. But then one day last week, I woke up and it dawned on me: I’m HAVING A BABY! SOON!

Yikes.

I have found my head spinning with new, unanswerable questions. Who will she look like? How will she sound when she cries? Will she like me? What if she’s not a she? What if I’m the worst mother in the history of the world?

I have found my solace, this week, in crochet.

I have also been acquiring hand-me-downs. Generations of hand-me-downs.

This is the blanket my great-grandma crocheted for my brother when he was born. He was her first great-grandchild. I remember her, vaguely. She died when I was three. She was ninety-one. I remember we crashed the car on the way to her funeral.

This is the blanket my grandma knitted for me when I was born. I was her first granddaughter. She’s still with us, and very much looking forward to meeting her first great-granddaughter, although she can’t knit any more because her hands shake too much and she has arthritis in her knuckles.

This is the tiny baby poncho my (thoroughly uncrafty) mum bought my brother when he was born. Hello seventies!

And finally, this is the start of the blanket I am making for my daughter when she is born:

It’s the sunburst pattern again, after finally working out my hooky issues, in my favourite ever baby yarn – Rico Baby Classic DK. I even managed to incorporate my little stash from waybackwhen, along with a few new colours. I’m trying to get enough pink in there to make it girly, without passing over the boundary with sickly. I think it’s working, so far.

 

4 Responses to “generations…”

  1. Ana Says:

    Love the colours of your crochet. Those squares will make a lovely cot blanket for your new daughter.

  2. Heather Says:

    I can’t wait to meet your daughter. I’m going to tell her that she has the coolest, craftiest mum ever. She’s going to love you, how could she not?
    xxxxxxxx

  3. Laura Says:

    You will be a brilliant mother and your daughter will love you! I think everyone has these worries in the last stages of pregnancy but there is nothing to worry about. 🙂

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE your crochet blanket. I’m sure it will be cherished in years to come like the others in your family.

    xxx

  4. Erica Says:

    As Laura said above, all moms have those worries when pregnant, whether it’s your first baby or not. I’ve had two children, and with each one, I had those worries near the end. I used to have dreams about leaving the baby somewhere – in the crib at home while I sashayed out to the grocery store (what an exciting excursion), or in the alternative, having gone to a store and then left the baby behind! You never do that in real life – this is just your mind amplifying your anxieties. Motherhood is challenging but wonderful – you’re going to be great.

    And what a BEAUTIFUL collection of blankets. As sweet as it is to have those multi-generational blankets, I still think the one you are working on is the loveliest. Hope you have a great day!


Leave a Reply

