peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

issues… May 11, 2010

Filed under: Crochet,Knitting,Project Projects! — Katherine @ 4:21 pm

First, some happy news. Teeny cardigan is all blocked and buttoned and hanging in a teeny wardrobe.

So, fuelled with completion success and facing a free weekend, I started thinking about my next project. 9 colours of Rico Baby – the softest synthetic I’ve ever had the pleasure of squishing. Junior p&p is probaby already the most blanketed child ever, and she hasn’t even been born yet, so she really doesn’t need another one. But need has never really been a factor in my projects before, so blanket it was!

A bit of thinking and experimenting led me back to the Sunburst granny pattern, and I cranked a few out to see. Then, mid-way into the third square, disaster struck:

RIP, my favourite 4mm crochet hook šŸ˜¦

After an emergency run into town to pick up a new hook, I soldiered on, only to run into double disaster!

The two squares on the left are pre-disaster, with the old 4mm hook. The one on the right was made with the new 4mm hook. Clearly, they are not the same size. How can this be?!?

Cue another emergency run for a 3.5mm hook. This seems to have almost done the trick. Although they are still not the same size, they’re a whole lot closer.

I think I’m going to have to get yet another hook, though. I can’t get on with the metal hooks. I think it’s the shape of the handles clashing wildly with my unorthodox method of holding them!

A little treat just for me. Maybe that will make up for my disastrous weekend šŸ™‚

 

2 Responses to “issues…”

  1. Amanda Says:

    I have two metal 4mm hooks that hook to a different size, as well. They have a slightly different hook shape that seems to make a difference. At least you noticed right off the bat before hooking a ton more squares. šŸ™‚

    Beautiful sweater, too.

  2. Heather Says:

    RIP hooky hook xx


Leave a Reply

