peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

a comfy kind of picnic… April 18, 2010

Filed under: Photography,Writing — Katherine @ 11:27 am

What better way to spend a spring day than lazily picnicking somewhere quiet and picturesque? Yesterday dawned bright and unseasonably warm, and as Heather was making the trip here anyway, so she could have a snoop round my local yarny shop, we decided afterwards to pick up some snacks and head out to Yorkshire Sculpture Park to laze about in the sun. Or, more accurately, to laze on a bench in the shade. Lovely.

We decided on a bench, rather than the ground, mainly for the fear that I wouldn’t be able to get back up off it.

The Sculpture Park (or more accurately, Bretton Hall – the building that the park surrounds) always has a special place in my heart because it’s where I did my degree. I spent four years traipsing round these grounds, to-ing and fro-ing from my veritable dump of a student house. In my first year I spent much of my time in the ground floor Orangery, watching squirrels and bunnies from the full length windows when I probably should have been working. The next three years I mostly spent on the top floor of this building:

Bretton Hall College, formerly an independent college focusing on teacher training and the arts, merged with the University of Leeds in 2001. I graduated in 2004. In the summer of 2007, all departments were closed, and relocated to the Leeds city university campus. The Hall is now awaiting its new incarnation as a luxury hotel and spa. To be honest, that makes me a little bit sad.

Happily, for all us creative souls, the Sculpture Park in the grounds lives on.

So, anyway, a spring picnic!

Of course! Nothing says spring like a good covering of daffs. I’ve been admiring the healthy crop on the driveway to our estate every morning on my way to work, but the park was just covered, and along with the budding trees, made us feel like our cobwebs were being well and truly blown off.

So we ate, people-watched, took pictures and talked babies, sausage dogs, families, babies, hair, babies and babies. I spent some time stalking a cheeky robin, paparazzi-style (except without actually getting up off the bench, of course) until I finally managed to get him:

And as the light started to falter, and we were joined by Mr Heather, we had a final wander round the grounds before home, allowing me to participate in a level of tree climbing suitable for the seventh month of pregnancy:

All in all, another really rather nice day.

 

3 Responses to “a comfy kind of picnic…”

  1. Heather Says:

    I had such a lovely day šŸ™‚ thank you.

    Your photo editing is also several shades of awesome, the darkening around the edges in particular.
    xxxxxx

    • Katherine Says:

      I did too!

      And merci buckets šŸ˜€ Having good software helps. I do get a bit overexcited with the old vignettes, I must admit!

  2. Resmi Says:

    Hi,

    I am constant visitor at both your’s and Heather’s blogs from the past few weeks. Must say that you ppl rock. I loved that shot of the Daffs very much. Good day! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

