peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

and finally… January 23, 2010

Filed under: Crochet,Knitting,Project Projects! — Katherine @ 3:14 pm

Project Projects is now up to three! The cotton baby ripple was finished this week, but it has taken until today for me to be in possession of enough natural light to photograph it in. Winter, tut. I long for the days when I can leave for work in the light, and it still be light when I get in.

It’s a fairly small blanket, a good size for a car seat or buggy, and the cotton makes it cosy without being too warm. I haven’t yet decided whether this will be Baby p&p’s first handcrafted item, or if I’m going to send it to my ready-to-pop-at-any-minute friend! If she has a boy, I think I’ll donate it.  If she has a girl, it’s mine. All mine. I don’t know what flavour mine is, yet, but am unconcerned by gender stereotypes.

On the subject of Baby p&p, the little nugget’s doing well. I heard the reassuring thump of a teeny tiny heartbeat on Tuesday, and that had me on a high all week. I’ve also started to feel movements – the slightest hint of small, secret shifts and rolls and kicks that get stronger by the day. This morning the little one’s dad had his hand on my belly, and was treated to a little, soft poke (probably the strongest kick bubs could muster!) that made it all the way to the outside world. We have our next scan in a couple of weeks, and should be able to find out the gender. I actually can’t wait.

In other news, the lovely Mr p&p gave me the gift of yarn for Christmas, and it arrived this week.

Lovely, lovely pima cotton for my Sage Remedy top. I’m hoping to have this done for spring, and the pattern looks like it will accommodate my increasing girth with relative ease!

And some long-awaited Malabrigo Worsted, to become some variety of cardigan. Oh my, this yarn. If you’ve never encountered this in person (I hadn’t, until it popped through my letterbox a couple of days ago), then you are severely missing out. It’s buttery soft, squooshy, warm – all of the things a good pure wool should be. And the colour is amazing. Really amazing. This shade is called ‘Sealing Wax’ and it’s a mixture of rich reds, with hints of orange here and there.

I think I’m in love.

 

5 Responses to “and finally…”

  1. Heather Says:

    Oh my that is one scrumptious ripple! I’m definitely in the “keep it”camp. I know you were unsure about your bright blue but it works so well and perks up the blanket no end. Lovely!

    • Katherine Says:

      Thanks ❤

      Reason I'm considering not keeping it is that I've since come across a colour combo I like more! So thinking about doing the same blanket, same yarn, other colours. That said, I could possibly do it anyway and keep… both of them? How mean of me 😮

  2. Izzy Says:

    beautiful work! i adore the colors.

    • Katherine Says:

      Thank you!

      It’s the first time I’ve ever finished a blanket (made 101 false starts), so I’m feeling pretty proud of myself 😀


Leave a Reply

