peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

warm wrists… November 24, 2009

Filed under: Knitting — Katherine @ 7:16 pm

What’s this, I hear you cry! TWO posts in a week? Surely not. Surely some kind of mistake?

As it happens I have been exceptionally crafty this week.

The green wristwarmers promised in my last post, plus a bonus action shot:

An easy knit – couple of evenings and a Sunday afternoon, not going at any great pace. It’s a nice little pattern, open to all manner of alterations, which of course I almost immediately did:

Again reaching for my inner teenager, after the failure of the earlier fair isle. Swapped the 1×1 rib (my nemesis) for 2×2, and took out the lace pattern in favour of skinny stripes. The one-handed action shot actually works perfectly here, as I have currently only actually done one. Don’t worry, I am going to do the other one. This isn’t a cosy emo homage to MJ or anything.

And while I’m warming my wrists, a blast from my past. These are the Hurry Up Spring armwarmers from Stitch N Bitch Nation, in the lovely Noro Kureyon, and they are from a while ago. They were actually on my needles the day I went on the first date with my lovely husband. I like to think of them as my good luck omen. As a knitted sign of change. Of good things to come.

And, of course, they are really rather good at keeping your wrists warm.

They are looking a little tatty round the tops these days, but I still love them, cable-y goodness and all. There are two of these, by the way, they just look all shrunken and sad when not on a wrist because of the amount of ribbing round the back. The other one’s very similar. You’re not missing much.

On Saturday I went back to the house my cousin rents off me and dug through the INSANE amount of crap I left in the loft when I moved out. I left in a hurry after breaking up with my ex, and I’m not overly keen on being there. It reminds me of old times. Sadder times. But there were happy times for me when I saw the sheer amount of yarn I’d amassed and thrown up in boxes. Oh my, I was really rather overcome. It was like a supermarket sweep in a FREE yarn supermarket. Extremely exciting. I may post you a photo of my hoard when I’ve sorted it all out.

Maybe I’ll even manage three posts in a week?

 

3 Responses to “warm wrists…”

  1. Kate Says:

    My inner emo loves those mitts.

  2. Ghost Says:

    They all look so comfy and pretty. Love the green ones especially.

  3. Cass Wessel Says:

    found you via Google while searching for warm wrists, a term found in a Grace Livingston Hill book from 1920!


Leave a Reply

