peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

remember, remember… November 14, 2009

Filed under: Crochet — Katherine @ 12:33 pm

Another long gap, and my apologies. Truth be told, the reason I haven’t posted for a while is because I haven’t actually produced anything for a while!

So far this November I have been mostly working and sleeping. Oh, and counting down the days until Christmas. 40, if you’re interested.

I still cannot afford the yarn to finally finish Baby Granny Blanket, so in the meantime, have been making use of my (sizeable) stash. And coming up with a few of these little babies.

The yarn is Patons Smoothie, which I do actually quite like, for a synthetic, although it is EXTREMELY splitty. It’s got a sort of mercerised cotton feel – shiny and cool, and best of all is only £2ish for 100g. Hurrah! Colours aren’t great, although I lovelove this teal, and the lime green.

The pattern is the Sunburst Granny Square, which I have admired for a while, and have always liked best when the little bursts of colour are framed in a pale colour, like little colourful targets. I think it would be really rather delicious in Rowan Pure Wool, should I ever find the money!

For now, my cheapy, splitty yarn will have to do.

 

5 Responses to “remember, remember…”

  1. pymette Says:

    I used a cheap Patons yarn for my last project- wasn’t too bad but I continue to fondle Rowan Pure Wool in the yarn shop whenever I visit.

    Love the way you framed the grannies with white!

    • Katherine Says:

      Thanks! I shamelessly stole the framing idea from all manner of people on flickr. I just love the way it makes the colour rings look 🙂

  2. Heather Says:

    oof they’re cute!

    What do you need to finish your babygranny?

    • Katherine Says:

      A buttload of Anthracite, mainly. Keep meaning to nip up to Up Country so I can buy in stages, but never get round to it!

      Going to earmark some of November’s pay and do a McA order 🙂

  3. […] bit of thinking and experimenting led me back to the Sunburst granny pattern, and I cranked a few out to see. Then, mid-way into the third square, disaster […]


Leave a Reply

