peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

le tour eiffel… October 29, 2009

Filed under: Photography — Katherine @ 8:56 pm

I’m aware that it’s been rather a long time since my last entry. To say that quite a lot has happened in that time would probably be an understatement, and yet really, not all that much is different! Sorry for the gap, folks. I’ll try to make it up to you!

My peace offering comes in the form of the Eiffel Tower.

I must confess, I fell ever so slightly in love with it.

Nothing more than a few fairly decorative girders, really, this looming metal cliché captured my heart entirely. And I took rather a lot of pictures of it, up it, off it… there’s also a chance I may have scribbled our names and the date of our anniversary somewhere on the 2nd floor observation deck, but since that’s technically vandalism, and thus illegal, I can’t confirm it.

As it happened, we walked to the tower from the Louvre metro station (which is a LOT further than it looks on the map), and as we tumbled through back streets the top of the town would peek teasingly up from behind buildings, and as we finally came out onto the Champ de Mars, it revealed itself in its full glory, and pretty much took my breath away.

There are 328 steps to the first floor, and after walking a good 5 miles to get there in the first place, we DEFINITELY felt every one of them.

There are a further 340 steps to the second level, and 23 steps and a lift to the top level.

It’s a good job, then, that when you get right to the top, the view looks like this:

My legs ached for a full 10 days after this particular climb, and actually, I was ok with it. I forgave the tower. Because the tower gave me a lovely, warm, fuzzy feeling. And, achy legs aside, it was a really rather perfect way to celebrate our first anniversary.

How on earth will we top that next year?

 

Leave a Reply

