peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

a brief affair… August 15, 2009

Filed under: Crochet — Katherine @ 1:38 pm

Despite only having finished my 12th block of Baby Granny Blanket, I have already strayed my undivided attention from it.

I was passing my lovely little local yarn shop last weekend, after not being in town for weeks, and I felt the soft tug of temptation. After a few weeks perving over the granny square pools on Flickr, I had ideas for blanket 2 whirling round my head, and so it happened that I allowed myself to purchase these 4 balls of candy-coloured loveliness. It’s Rico Baby Classic DK, deliciously soft despite being synthetic, and a fair bit cheaper than the Rowan. I have plans.

Sorry, Baby Granny Blanket. It only happened the once.

 

7 Responses to “a brief affair…”

  1. Heather Says:

    Do you feel a bit like you are cheating on your Baby Granny Blanket? I have just spent £26 on yarn to feed my massive blanket but all I want to do is sit and play with my £3 ball of Patons and make my Stripy Cotton blanket! Oh dear, we are so bad…

    • Katherine Says:

      I do! I feel a bit ashamed of myself.

      Plus I’ve got a bad habit of starting things, and then not finishing them (tut), so I will absolutely not begin on New Blanket until Baby Granny is either finished, or temporarily waiting for yarn.

      I must be strong!

  2. Heather Says:

    One of the reasons I have been working so fast on my blanket is because I worry that if I take it slowly I will run out of momentum to complete it, or become too distracted by other projects. If I whiz through it, it’s relatively quick gratification and I can move onto the next thing. Bish Bash Bosh!

    I’m working on a stripy blanket – chain 250 and then just DC back and forth until it’s big enough. Two stripes green, one stripe blue – repeat etc.
    It’s for my sister’s room at uni, to brighten up the painted bricks a bit…

  3. Katherine Says:

    Ooh, have you started stripy blanket yet?

    I’d like to do a stripy blanket. But I’d also like to do a hexagon one. Choices! Considering how long this one is taking, I could be here for years!

  4. Heather Says:

    I have done 8 rows of my stripy blanket 🙂 I will blog tomorrow if I am not too hen do’d out!

    • Katherine Says:

      Aye, that’s today. Have a good time! I’d say enjoy your remaining freedom, except I’m guessing that you probably agree with me that freedom is kinda overrated.

      I’m away v soon to see my mother. She’d best enjoy my buns!

  5. […] ever baby yarn – Rico Baby Classic DK. I even managed to incorporate my little stash from waybackwhen, along with a few new colours. I’m trying to get enough pink in there to make it girly, […]


Leave a Reply

