peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

a change of heart August 4, 2009

Filed under: Crochet — Katherine @ 6:09 pm

Something has changed in the p&p household. The blocks are missing. In their place – a pile. A growing pile.

When I looked at the glaring error photo from the last post, it wasn’t just the obvious flaw that bugged me. It was the blocks. The segregation. It just didn’t feel right. So I took a deep breath and seperated all the blocks. I think I need to mix it up a bit.

The atmosphere now is a little more haphazard. A little more free. Port nestling with Dahlia and Damson and soon Hydrangea. And I think I like it better that way.

I still only have ten squares, so I can’t lay them out the way I’m invisioning, but I can give you an idea:

What do you reckon? Better?

 

8 Responses to “a change of heart”

  1. Heather Says:

    Muchmuch better. I have thought about that from a while back but didn’t say anything because it’s your blanket and not mine. It looks great like this.

    Have you bought your Hydrangea yet? Just a word of warning, it is verrry similar to the Damson …

    • Katherine Says:

      The way the blocks looked in my mind’s eye and the way they ended up looking were all at odds. I think it’s a deffo improvement. Oh well, it’s all a journey šŸ™‚

      I bought the Hydrangea at the same time as the Damson (they looked different onscreen), and yeah, they’re very, very similar. I think it’ll be ok, though. The new way I’m planning to arrange them will means they’re never next to each other.

      That said, I’ve not started on it yet, so could sub it and keep my Hydrangea for another project. Hmmm….what to do.

      • Heather Says:

        I think that Raspberry could look good instead. The hydrangea is lovely, I think of is as quite “rustic”, but it is definitely not very contrasting with damson, the photos online are quire misleading.

      • Katherine Says:

        Hmmm. I think what I may need in this instance is either a trip to the yarn shop, or a shade card. Things could take a turn for the unexpected otherwise!

      • Laura Says:

        trip to a yarn store! always the way forward. and then you can squoosh the yarn.

        blanket is looking good. i need to get on with mine. i shall do that tomorrow, methinks.

      • Katherine Says:

        You are right, squooshing is best. Hmmm. Will have to see when I can nip to the nearest shop (which isn’t near at all).

  2. Lucy@attic24 Says:

    oh yeah, that “mistake” would have bugged the hell out of you forever, you did right to put it right.
    LOVE how your BB is so different from mine with your colour palette, it looks just as beautiful, but so different!
    You must be Heathers friend, did you go to Alnmouth together? How long did it take from leeds?
    We’re up there at the end of the month and I can’t wait :o)
    Been lovely visiting with you….hope you continue to enjoy BB as much as I enjoy mine
    lucexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • Katherine Says:

      I’m definitely at peace with my decision to separate! It did involve me accidentally severing two of my squares and needing to re-edge them, but when I saw them all laid out together, I knew it was the right choice.

      We did indeedy go to Alnmouth together. It took about 2 hours from Leeds on the train, and then about a half-hour walk to the beach. Quite the adventure! Worth it though – I love the seaside. I think we both regressed about 20 years as soon as we saw sand šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

