peppermints & poppies

where life imitates art

first mistake August 1, 2009

Filed under: Crochet — Katherine @ 9:34 pm

This week I have had little time for crochet, although I have been enjoying the shopping bag I bought in Alnmouth that is just the right size to hold my project while I’m neglecting it. It reminds me of deckchairs and the seaside.

Despite my neglect, I have been making little bits of progress here and there. I’ve now finished the dahlia block, and am started on the damson one.

I was feeling quite pleased with myself until I looked at the following picture and noticed my glaring error. Oh no!

See it?

The block of four on the left has the two squares edged in avocado, port, then anthracite are NEXT TO EACH OTHER when they should be on the diagonal. Disaster!

I could just leave it – I doubt it’d be that noticeable when the whole blanket is put together.

But I would notice. Every time I saw it, I’d be silently cursing myself. I would never let it lie.

I know what I have to do.

 

5 Responses to “first mistake”

  1. Heather Says:

    Eeek. Not good. At least you have discovered it now, rather than later when it is all joined together …

    (at least yours are all the same size. Mine range from teeny to FAT.)

    • Katherine Says:

      True! At least I don’t have to unseam an entire blanket. That’d suck!

      I’ve joined the 4 dahlia squares too, but thankfully paid a bit more attention to them. And damson squares are nowhere near joining stage.

      They’re not exactly the same, but pretty close, and I think I’ll be able to block them even closer πŸ™‚

      • Heather Says:

        can you undo the entire middle seam and turn the bottom two around, so that the bottom left square becomes the bottom right square and vice versa? rather than unseaming them all and changing it so that the top left and bottom right swap places?

  2. Laura Says:

    I have to admit, it would really bug me and I would have to undo it. I am always told off about things like that but it is the perfectionist in me 😦

    At least, as Heather says, it won’t be too tricky to sort out πŸ™‚ x

    • Katherine Says:

      I don’t have the perfectionist thing in all things, but craft is definitely one that I do!

      Oh, and house painting. One of the lines between the walls and ceiling in the bathroom is a little off, and every single time I go in, my eyes shoot immediately to that spot! Grrr.


Leave a Reply

